Do your best lads, if we lose it’s not the end of the world, we can have another chance in about 20-30 years

I woke up yesterday to this interview with two young Palace fans, Jack aged 9 and Joe aged 7.  Any pessimism I had was washed away by their enthusiasm.  It’s only 2 minutes and starts at 50 minutes 45 seconds in.

I reprint the text in full; but it’s better to listen to the radio, click on the link.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b07c3wlc

Hello I’m Jack and I’m 9
Hello I’m Joe and I’m 7
WE ARE THE BIGGEST PALACE FANS
‘Are you excited about the FA Cup?’
YEEEESSSS
‘Do you think Crystal Palace will be able to hold off and beat Manchester United’.
YEEESSSSS
Depends on the teams really.
‘Which players are you most nervous about from Manchester United?’
Wayne Rooney
He’s a loser
Fellaini and Rojo
‘What about your players, who do you think will do well’
Bolassie
I think Cabaye’s gonna do well.
‘He’s used to playing on the big stage isn’t he’.
Yehh, it’s true.
Zaha, maybe. But I’m not sure he’s gonna play, because he may be injured.
‘What do you think the final score will be?’
I think it’s going to be 2 all, in extra time, Palace are gonna win on penalties.
2-1, Palace
‘Do you think this is the year of the underdog?’
OF COURSE IT IS.
Yes, and it will be great to play in the community shield against Leicester.
‘What would you say to Alan Pardew, what advice would you give him?’
Injure Rooney
Injure Rooney? I would say ‘give your best lads, if we lose it’s not the end of the world, we can have another chance in about another 20-30 years, or something.
WEMBERLY, WEMBERLY, WE’RE THE FAMOUS PALACE SUPPORTERS AND WE’RE GOING TO WEMBERLY.

 

Leave a Reply

