Take the skinheads bowling!

News doesn’t get any better does it?

Generally men don’t find it easy talking about their feelings.  They say ‘it was emotional’ when what they mean is ‘I got upset’.  Well I got upset watching a Turkish film called Mustang in the Electric Cinema this week.  In the same country the film was based in there was a week of a failed coup attempt, a government clampdown on thousands of public servants without any evidence and the assumption of dictatorial powers which follows the establishment of a state of emergency.  And here was a film about five Turkish girls trying to have a childhood.  Here’s an interview with the director and co-writer of the film.

https://www.theguardian.com/film/2016/may/15/deniz-gamze-erguven-mustang-turkey-interview-rachel-cooke


During the film the tv is on and the then Deputy Prime Minister was making a speech and said

”A  man should be moral but women should be moral as well, they should know what is decent and what is not decent, she should not laugh loudly in front of all the world and should preserve her decency at all times.”

One response from a blogger was “Stop giving us moral lessons and instead count all the money that you have stolen,”

A great film, and as a bonus I didn’t need to follow the subtitles as much as the rest of the audience.

This week we said goodbye to Nina from Moscow, Russia and Alesia from Lapland, Finland. In their place have arrived Camilla from northwest Italy and Popo from Macau, China. Popo is enthusiastic in her appreciation of British culture, and everything is ‘super’ this and ‘super’ that.  She took a picture of the meal Penny prepared on the first day but not of the one I did last night, she did however say it was ‘yummy’ and said she enjoyed the steamed rice.  An hour before the meal Kenan was hoovering the dining room and a mouse ran out from a corner.  God knows how it got there, it was intact and not mauled by one of our cats and brought in.  I picked it by it’s tail and released it into our neighbours garden.  Which is easy to do because we have no fence between us.  Not that we decided we don’t want one.  Just that he’s not replaced the one that deteriorated when the house was unoccupied.

IMG_20160723_114337.jpg

 

I was asking my students whether they felt their English had improved.  And Judit from Catalonia said as an example that when she first arrived she couldn’t understand a word I said but now follows it perfectly.  Has she improved or I?  I hope it’s both.

Things I recommend;

In my efforts to lighten the mood a little I’d like to leave a youtube clip of a track with a great title from the 1980’s by an obscure American band.  Take the skinheads bowling.  You could do a lot worse.

Things I don’t recommend;

Retreating into a shell.  I know it’s awful out there and escapism is fine but please keep engaged with what’s happening.  Cos I need you to join me to challenge it.

Leave a Reply

