Baseball on Burnham Beeches

image

A day out in Edinburgh.  First to see the castle and then to visit the Royal Botanic Garden. Tonight a night in as we’re planning a day trip to Glasgow tomorrow; I accept it’s a travesty of justice to ‘see’ Scotland’s biggest city in a day but time is limited and I’m itching for the wide open spaces.

I will at least be doing it more justice than Milan and Frankfurt, both of which I’ve also seen. Or at least the arrival and departure lounge of the airport’s serving them.

Last night a short stroll for an Indian and then a pint in a pub.  Or something masquerading as one with table service.  There are lots of international visitors to this city and like most capital cities many residents from other countries.

It’s kind of unusual to be inhabiting a friend’s home.  Although it must be 20 years since we’ve seen Judy the interior is definitely a reminder of the person we know.  We’re staying on the second floor of a tenement building and have yet to see any of the neighbours. 

This morning, thanks to YouTube I worked out how to use the Bosch Tassimo.  Or a coffee maker to the unfamiliar.

Judy and Penny have been friends since they worked in a small care home together in the 1980s.  One of my two previous visits to Scotland were in that decade when we spent the New Year near Aviemore in one of Judy’s siblings otherwise empty house.  The other time was when I finished my stint as Community Service Volunteer in Perth on a residential exchange.  From there I made my way across to the west of Ireland for a holiday and then hitched some of the way back to London.

In that period between 1988 and 1995 there was an annual get together on Burnham Beeches with Judy, her family and friends.  After feasting on food and drink we played a game of rounders and I made at least one home run.

Things I recommend, keeping in touch.

Leave a Reply

