Spot the mink

image

I’ve crashed.  Not my car, my body.  These early morning breakfasts are doing me in, am seriously considering missing one tomorrow to trade it off for sleep.  But have planned to visit the mystical island of Iona so we’ll see.  Can always sleep in Hastings.

Another thing to consider is how strictly they observe the Sabbath as we’re leaving Mull for the mainland and Fort William then.  Better make sure I have a full tank of petrol, garages selling them are scarce enough as it is.  The entire population of this island is 3,000, and it’s huge, or seems like it when you can’t get past third gear and speeds of 30-40 mph on most of the islands road’s.

The sun was out as I nursed half a pint in The Mishnish Arms whilst Penny had her hair done.  Life could be worse.  And the warming sound of a working class Londoner nearby, so many posh English accents around.  Some around me order the original energy drink, Irn Bru, it is midday after all.

Last night a meal in a Chinese, I’ve had better.  No one out, well not many.  I’m hoping for a livelier Friday night out in Tobermory, setting for Balamory, ask your kids if you’re scratching your head.

I’ve been away a week now, this time next week I’ll be catching up with my sister in Lincoln.  How to summarise my week?  Compared to England there is so much more powerful physical space.  Edinburgh plays on everyone’s stereotype of Scotland, if you want a picture of a man in a kilt playing bagpipes, it’s there in the city centre near the castle.  It’s town centre is low rise with little modern development.  Glasgow has had a tougher time economically but there is a vibrancy to the place which is appealing.  North of these two places are mountains, forests, islands, lochs and hardly any people.  And there’s a reason for that, which I’ll mention another time.  But if you can’t wait Google the Highland clearances to give you some idea.

Finally as I was returning to car park I noticed what looked like a large rat but think was actually a mink in the harbour, see picture at the top.

image

Things I recommend, sleep. Having knowledge of your history. Without knowledge you’re like a cabbage in this society.

Leave a Reply

