Hornsey Road, N7 to N19

Another busy week and the best news is that my mum is out of hospital and recovering at Ayse’s.  Earlier yesterday I met with John and we walked the length of the Hornsey Road, by where I spent my life between the ages of 11 – 20.  Starting at Liverpool Road tube we soon passed a new arrival, Arsenal football club.

20170218_130640

It used to be the site of a council depot where dustcarts came and went and where minibuses were collected for trips to the seaside, as I once did when working in Highbury Grove Adult Training Centre in the mid 1980s.  Continuing pass the Tolly (Tollington public house) we got to the junction with Seven Sisters Road.  The old fruit and veg  shop I worked at, Gibber of Holloway, is now a post office.

20170218_133042

We soon passed my sisters primary school

20170218_133309

and what was once the local swimming pool.

20170218_133305

We then passed near my old estate and the site of my one appearance in an identity parade.

20170218_133523

I was innocent and justice was served…  I was only walking home and got asked if I could do the cops a favour as they needed to make up the numbers.

We continued past this old landmark, near the junction with Tollington Park.

20170218_134217

 

20170218_134608

Cutting back through the estate Andreas, George Karpasitas and the drummer from 80s hit group Imagination lived in we continued up Hornsey Rise where Jazzy B of cooler 80s outfit Soul II Soul resided.  We eventually went down the hill to Crouch End to enjoy a pint in yet another gastropub we used to frequent.

20170218_141111

At least it’s got the same name and hasn’t been called the Oscar Wilde or some other such nonsense.  We then walked back towards Finsbury Park along the Crouch Hill and then Stroud Green Road, a total distance of just under 4 miles.  It felt like more.

Hero of the week is Adele who made the following comments after winning LP of the year at the Grammy’s

“I can’t possibly accept this award.  The Lemonade album was just so monumental, Beyoncé. It was so monumental and well thought-out and beautiful and soul-baring… we appreciate that. All of us artists here adore you. You are our light.  She later added backstage “I thought it was her year. What the fuck does she have to do to win Album of the Year?”

She then destroyed the grammy;

landscape-1486965986-hbz-adele-grammy-index

I’m not a huge fan of either artist but I thought it was a powerful gesture and we can all guess why Beyonce was overlooked.

Take care and stay safe.

 

 

One thought on “Hornsey Road, N7 to N19

Leave a Reply

