In office but not in power.

A late start and a lazy Sunday morning.  Thursday night is still having an effect on my body clock.  I’ve been taking medication to help me sleep for years but I don’t think I need them.  I just need to stay awake for 36 hours and then I have a perfect nights sleep. On Thursday night I got a call from Jafer who was watching the election in a south London pub.  It was nice that he wanted some information on what happens in the event of a hung Parliament although at the time I was cautious about whether the exit polls were accurate.  And in the morning as I was getting ready to have a bath I managed to accidentally call my cousin Ayse and have a pleasant, but short chat.  Be good to get together soon.

Yesterday I described my initial response to the General Election which has resulted in a minority Tory government.  In office but not in power.  Just at the time of the most important period of British history since the end of World War 2.  They have only themselves to blame.  Teresa May wasn’t content with a small majority.  She wanted a bigger one.  And she thought she could get it without showing up on tv debates.  Without meeting the public in anything other than the most sterile on environments, with an audience carefully vetted by her minders.  On two occasions they cocked up.  Firstly in Cornwall when a member of public said Brexit wasn’t the only important thing in the election.  And secondly when an adult with learning disabilities tackled her on the cut in her personal benefits.  If anything shows the true character of the Tory government it was their promise to stop providing free school meals to all primary school children.

The country has changed.  And for the better.  The minority Tory government will need to abandon policies it won’t get passed through Parliament.  And as for Brexit, the people have spoken.  And if they think the only thing that matters is immigration control this government are about to learn otherwise.  Our human rights won’t be trampled upon. Our rights in the workplace won’t be destroyed.  I dare this minority Tory government (and I’m going to keep on referring to them as such just in case they try and tell us they have a mandate for their extreme policies) to test us.  We are ready for the battle.

The failure of the Tory party wasn’t the only event that cheered me up on Thursday night/ Friday morning.  Another was the dismal performance of UKIP.  Paul Nuttall tried to rebrand his party as an anti-Islamic party.  The country told him what it thought of that.  And now he’s off.  Three leaders in two years and that includes two separate stints by Nigel Farage.  I give them one more General Election before they disappear altogether. Their sugar daddy Aaron Banks didn’t bankroll them so they could contest every seat this time.  The Tories arrogantly assumed that every UKIP voter would vote Tory.  How wrong they were.  One candidate, Lewis Thompson in Normanton, Yorkshire, urged UKIP voters to support the Labour candidate in neighbouring Wakefield, and to support Labour in other seats where no UKIP candidate stood.  The clincher was the Tory plan to stop free school meals and he made the following comments;

“That meal is sometimes the only meal a child will eat that day.  Taking that away is heartless.

The Tories will bring us back to the 70s/80s up north.

I’m sorry but child poverty is more of a priority that Brexit.”

DAwIEauXgAEA73d

I just wanted to clarify my comment yesterday about wealth redistribution.  When I said we wanted back what’s been stolen from us.  What I am pointing out is that the wealth within this country is created by all of us.  No millionaire becomes rich entirely due to his own efforts.  Usually there are many more people who are vital in the wealth creation process.  But who don’t receive their share of the wealth that’s created.

I’m still analysing the data from the election and I will continue to do so for the next few days.  Ten candidates stood in Islington North and Jeremy Corbyn received 40,086 votes, 73% of those that voted.  There were almost 75,000 registered to vote.  In Maidenhead Teresa May recieved 37,718 votes, 65% of those that voted.  In a seat where just over 76,000 are registered to vote.  May’s share of the vote dropped by 1%.  When nationally the Tories increased their share of the vote.  Corbyn’s share of the vote went up by 13%. He outperformed his Party which increased its vote by 10%.  Spare a thought for Andres Mendoza, the unfortunate person who tried to convince the voters in north Islington to vote for the Communist League of Great Britain.  He received 7 votes.  I presume he voted for himself which means he persuaded 6 others.  I’ve no idea whether he’s in a relationship but if so I hope they did the decent thing and stood by their man.  From the way he was beaming with pleasure when the vote was announced in the early hours of Friday morning I don’t think he was too disappointed with how the General Election went.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

