18.12.22

Well that was a good game. I don’t like games being decided by penalties but the team that were ahead for most of the game won the match despite being given a scare by the French. The fairy tale ending for Lionel Messi

happened. Football is a team game but individual brilliance is useful too.

It’s dark outside, chucking it down but at least the temperature outside is rising above ten degrees for the first time in ages after being near freezing point last week. We had some snow last Sunday, Bea took four hours to drive to Rye as a bus skidded and took up the whole road between Hastings and Rye but we’re not at the top of the town so the snow mostly melted by Monday. But it was cold. Having the heating on for four hours a day, wearing dressing gowns in the evening, sitting in front of the telly with a blanket on. So the milder weather of the next few days is welcome. On Wednesday I drove to Bexhill quite early as I was on door duty for a carer training event and a warning light flashed up. I think it might have been because I was driving below freezing point, the power was diminished, it wasn’t accelerating like normal and I contacted some garages and planned to take it somewhere Friday to be looked at and was starting to plan to hire a car for a few days. But by the afternoon everything was back to normal and it hasn’t happened again. The car is due a service and MOT in about two months time so hopefully it can carry on trouble free till then. But tomorrow I will be taking it on the motorway for the first time since it happened as I’m going up to London to see dad. Finally he has a dentists appointment, a month after first complaining of loose tooth. He will have to pay for it as he’s not being registered as an NHS patient and I don’t expect he’ll be pleased about that but at least it should mean he could enjoy the Christmas dinners he’s paid upfront for at the setup he’s living in instead of living on tinned soup all the way through to the new year.

Harry and Meghan have concluded their documentary which is available on Netflix. I can sense there’s a hostility towards him for dragging his family into the front pages. I heard some when I was in a pub with Jafer and Bea and Penny the other week and it’s really unpleasant to see what happens to you if you challenge the status quo. Of course they’re doing it for the money as much as anything else but the real story is that Megan wasn’t believed when she spoke about racism towards her and right on time her brother in law’s godmother persistently repeated herself to a black woman who she wouldn’t accept could be black and British. My personal view is that for some you will always be an immigrant and more so if you think the existing power structures are less than perfect. What some British people love is immigrants and children of immigrants adopting their prejudices. Look at how differently Priti Patel and Suella Braverman are portrayed compared to Diane Abbott or Bernie Grant the former MP for Tottenham where I lived for most of the 1990s. I remember Angela Merkel answering the question of how Germany could absorb a million Syrians with the comment ‘we will manage’. And they did and are doing so. I was asked my views by a friend I met up with the other week and my response was that immigration will always be a factor when there is inequality in the distribution of wealth. If you seriously want to stop immigration stop controlling the low prices of products they produce so that more of the wealth stays where they live. People will always follow the money, you can’t have free trade and free flow of money and then be surprised when people exercise their freedom to move. The price of stopping immigration will be a levelling of the wealth so that the richer countries become poorer and the poorer countries become richer. What that means for you and I is the end of a £5 pair of jeans in Primark. It’s hypocritical to rob the poor and then complain when they move to where the money is.

Anyway, what else is going on. Well it’s been busy at work and a busy week lies ahead before we break up for Christmas as I need to visit a lot of clients during the week in between having a Christmas jolly up in a day centre that’s closed to clients on Wednesday with food to share. And alcohol to follow in Bexhill after 5 pm for those that wish to extend the celebrations.

Things are coming together in my head. It’s taking time but I’m getting there.

Things I recommend; a Turkish film on Netflix called My Father’s Violin

https://www.netflix.com/gb/title/81346323

Stay warm however you can.

Leave a comment